

Visualizing Votes for Women

A 19th Amendment Ratification Timeline with Notable Voting Rights Legislation

- May 21, 1919 U.S. House of Representatives passes the woman suffrage amendment
- June 4, 1919 U.S. Senate passes the suffrage amendment and it goes to states for ratification
- June 10, 1919 Illinois ratifies
- June 10, 1919 Wisconsin ratifies
- June 10, 1919 Michigan ratifies
- June 16, 1919 Kansas ratifies
- June 16, 1919 Ohio ratifies
- June 16, 1919 New York ratifies
- June 24, 1919 Pennsylvania ratifies
- June 25, 1919 Massachusetts ratifies
- June 28, 1919 Texas ratifies
- July 2, 1919 Iowa ratifies
- July 3, 1919 Missouri ratifies
- July 24, 1919 Georgia rejects amendment
- July 28, 1919 Arkansas ratifies
- August 2, 1919 Montana ratifies
- August 2, 1919 Nebraska ratifies
- September 8, 1919 Minnesota ratifies
- September 10, 1919 New Hampshire ratifies
- September 22, 1919 Alabama rejects amendment
- September 30, 1919 Utah ratifies
- November 1, 1919 California ratifies
- November 5, 1919 Maine ratifies
- December 1, 1919 North Dakota ratifies
- December 4, 1919 South Dakota ratifies
- December 15, 1919 Colorado ratifies
 - January 6, 1920 Kentucky ratifies
 - January 6, 1920 Rhode Island ratifies
 - January 12, 1920 Oregon ratifies
 - January 16, 1920 Indiana ratifies
 - January 26, 1920 Wyoming ratifies

- January 28, 1920 South Carolina rejects amendment
- February 7, 1920 Nevada ratifies
- February 9, 1920 New Jersey ratifies
- February 11, 1920 Idaho ratifies
- February 12, 1920 Arizona ratifies
- February 12, 1920 Virginia rejects amendment
- February 16, 1920 New Mexico ratifies
- February 23, 1920 Oklahoma ratifies
- February 24, 1920 Maryland rejects amendment
 - March 10, 1920 West Virginia ratifies
 - March 22, 1920 Washington ratifies
 - March 29, 1920 Mississippi rejects amendment
 - June 2, 1920 Delaware rejects amendment
 - July 1, 1920 Louisiana rejects amendment

August 18, 1920 Tennessee becomes 36th state to ratify the woman suffrage amendment

August 26, 1920 The 19th Amendment is certified by U.S. Secretary of State

The right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any State on account of sex.

- September 14, 1920 Connecticut ratifies
 - February 8, 1921 Vermont ratifies
 - March 6, 1923 Delaware ratifies
 - 1924 Indian Citizenship Act
 - 1940 Nationality Act
 - March 29, 1941 Maryland ratifies
 - February 21, 1952 Virginia ratifies
- September 8, 1953 Alabama ratifies
 - 1964 The 24th Amendment abolishes poll taxes
 - 1965 Voting Rights Act
 - May 13, 1969 Florida ratifies
 - July 1, 1969 South Carolina ratifies
- February 20, 1970 Georgia ratifies
 - June 11, 1970 Louisiana ratifies
 - May 6, 1971 North Carolina ratifies
 - July 1, 1971 The 26th Amendment sets voting age at 18 years or older
 - March 22, 1984 Mississippi ratifies